Krish Chopra
Co-founder & CEO of NPHub
September 7, 2026
No items found.

How Much Do NP Preceptors Cost? A Complete Pricing Guide for Nurse Practitioner Students

NP preceptor cost depends on how you secure your clinical placement. If your school places you or you find your own preceptor, you won't pay a matching-service fee. Preceptor matching services charge a flat rate, an hourly rate, or a quoted price. NPHub starts at $12.75 per clinical hour, with a $1,000 minimum per rotation and a 15% deposit to begin.

Your exact price depends on your specialty, your location, and the clinical hours your program requires. After the deposit, you can pay the remaining balance in full, in three payments, or over twelve months. Below you will find worked examples, how other matching services price, and what is included, so there are no hidden fees.

Are you a clinician considering precepting, or comparing it to a school's preceptor honorarium? Talk with NPHub about precepting, with no commitment.

TL;DR: Key Takeaways About What NP Preceptor Costs

  • Starting price: NPHub placements start at $12.75 per clinical hour, with a $1,000 minimum per rotation. You see your exact price before you commit.
  • What sets your total: specialty demand, location, and the required clinical hours for each rotation. Psychiatric-mental health and acute care rotations usually cost more than family practice because fewer available preceptors teach in those specialties.
  • Payment plans: start with a 15% deposit, then pay the remaining balance in full, in three payments, or over twelve months. The three-payment and twelve-month plans carry a financing fee, and expedited requests carry a 20% rush fee.
  • How services compare: preceptor matching services use flat rates, hourly billing, or quotes after a call. Compare the total cost for your required hours, not just the headline rate.
  • What is included: a vetted preceptor, paperwork support, a student coordinator, and replacement or refund terms if your preceptor cancels.
    ‍

If you are trying to find NP preceptors while working as an RN and keeping up with coursework, you already know how much time cold outreach takes. Securing preceptors on your own means sending emails, making calls, and following up with clinical sites, often for weeks, before a nurse practitioner preceptor says yes.

The preceptor shortage behind this is documented. In its annual national survey, the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) found that nursing schools turned away 92,672 qualified applications in 2025. The reasons included too few faculty, clinical sites, and clinical preceptors (AACN).

This guide answers the cost question directly: what you pay, what changes your total, how payment plans work, and how NPHub compares with other preceptor matching options. If you want to see available preceptors and your exact price before deciding anything, you can create a free NPHub account and browse a network of 2,435 accepted preceptors with no commitment.

How Much Does NPHub Cost?

NPHub prices each preceptor placement on three inputs: your specialty, your location, and the clinical hours your program requires. Rates start at $12.75 per clinical hour, and every rotation has a $1,000 minimum. You see your exact price before you pay anything, and the figures below match what you see at checkout.

‍

NPHub NP Preceptor Cost: Component Breakdown (as of October 2026)
Cost component What you pay
Starting rate$12.75 per clinical hour
What sets your totalYour specialty, location, and required clinical hours
Rotation minimum$1,000
Service fee5% on all transactions, already included
Deposit to begin15% of your rotation total
Pay in fullNo financing fee
3-payment plan15% financing fee on the balance after your deposit
12-month plan33% financing fee on the balance after your deposit
Expedited placement20% rush fee for urgent requests, with VIP Matching Specialist support
GuaranteePreceptor replacement, or a refund of your balance if your preceptor cannot precept and no alternative is found

‍

What Does One Rotation Cost? Worked Examples

At the starting rate, your total cost is your required hours multiplied by $12.75, with $1,000 as the floor. Your hourly rate can be higher depending on specialty demand and location, so read these as the lowest price for each hour count, not a quote.

‍

NPHub rotation totals at the starting rate (illustrative)
Required hours Hours × $12.75 You pay
60$765$1,000 Rotation minimum applies
80$1,020$1,020
120$1,530$1,530
160$2,040$2,040
250$3,187.50$3,187.50

‍

What Influences Your NP Clinical Placement Costs?

Specialty demand and availability

Family practice and primary care rotations usually sit at the lower end of NPHub's pricing, because more preceptors teach in those settings. That matters for FNP students, whose clinical education centers on primary care. Psychiatric-mental health, acute care, women's health, and pediatrics usually cost more, because fewer available preceptors take students in those specialties.

Geographic location

Price also varies by state and metro. Areas with several large healthcare systems have more clinicians, but also more NP programs competing for the same clinical sites. Rural areas and federally designated health professional shortage areas (HPSAs) have fewer clinicians, which can limit local options.

Clinical hours required

The 2022 NTF Standards for NP education were developed by a task force convened by NONPF and the American Association of Colleges of Nursing. They require every NP track to include at least 750 direct patient care clinical hours (APNA). Many programs split those required hours across several clinical rotations, so longer rotations cost more under hourly billing. Check how many hours your program requires for each rotation before comparing prices.

Timeline and urgency

Standard-timeline requests carry no rush fee. Expedited placements carry a 20% rush fee, which covers a VIP Matching Specialist who prioritizes your search.

Where Your Payment Goes

Preceptors are practicing clinicians, many of them part of the NP workforce, and they mentor students on top of a full patient volume. Supervising students adds documentation review, evaluations, and forms for your school. Some NP programs pay a preceptor honorarium or offer in-kind benefits, such as university library access and continuing education credit (Seattle University, UMass Dartmouth). With NPHub, most of your payment goes to preceptor compensation, and the rest covers vetting, paperwork, and support (Why Is NPHub Expensive?). For the bigger question of whether to pay at all, see Why Should I Pay for a Preceptor?

How NPHub Payment Plans Work

Every booking starts with a 15% deposit. After that, you choose how to pay the remaining balance:

  • Pay in full: one payment, with no financing fee.
  • Three payments: a 15% financing fee on the balance after your deposit.
  • Twelve months: a 33% financing fee on that balance, billed every 28 days, with no credit check.
    ‍

The component table and the $2,000 example above show these fees in dollars. For billing details, such as backup cards and failed-payment retries, see 12-Month Payment Plan.

If you have several rotations left, map your total cost across the academic year before choosing a plan for one rotation.

Want to see your exact price and plan options for your next rotation? Create a free NPHub account and check before you commit to anything.

Smart Budgeting Tips

  • Plan for all your rotations: Calculate your total clinical rotation costs for your entire program, not just your next placement.
  • Factor in timing: Know when deposits are due and when auto-charged payments will hit your account.
  • Review the payment schedule carefully: Understand exactly when each installment is due to avoid surprise fees.
  • Ask about payment options upfront: Don't hesitate to inquire about payment plans before committing to a service. ‍
    ‍

How NP Preceptor Costs Compare Across Matching Services

Preceptor matching services price in three ways: hourly billing, a flat rate, or a quote after a call. Before you choose, compare the total cost for your required hours, the deposit, the payment plans, and the refund terms, not just the headline number.

‍

How preceptor matching services price NP clinical placements (as of October 2026)
Option Pricing model Published price Deposit Payment plans Published refund terms
NPHub Hourly From $12.75 per clinical hour, $1,000 minimum 15% Pay in full, 3 payments, 12 months Yes (policy)
Clinical Match Me Flat rate $1,995 for up to 250 hours, plus $1,000 per additional 100-hour block Pays only when matched Plans from 2 to 24 months Money-back guarantee published
Clinical Preceptor Rescue Hourly, quote-based From $12.50 per hour; full total given after an intake form and call Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed Not published
Preceptor Point Quote-based Not published; pricing given on a sales call $200 Not publicly disclosed Guarantee advertised
Finding your own preceptor None No matching-service fee None None None

‍

Is a Paid Placement Worth the Cost?

That depends on your timeline and how your search is going. Some students find their own preceptors through their program, colleagues, or alumni networks, and pay no placement fee. Others weigh the cost of a paid placement against what a delayed graduation can mean: more tuition, more months of loan interest, and lost wages from starting NP practice later.

Both choices are reasonable. We work through the numbers in Delaying NP Graduation Cost and compare the two paths in Are Paid NP Preceptors Worth It?

A paid placement trades money for time and certainty: a guaranteed match, paperwork handled, and dedicated support throughout. Whether that trade is worth it depends on where you are in your program and how the search is going. If you would like to see what a placement would look like for your rotation before deciding anything, you can create a free NPHub account and explore your options with no commitment.

What NPHub's Price Includes

Your price covers the whole preceptor placement, not just an introduction:

  • Preceptor matching: browse available preceptors by specialty and location, and request a clinical match online.
  • Vetting: NPHub has accepted 2,435 of 18,314 preceptor applicants (13.3%). Each qualified preceptor's license is verified with the state board before they join.
  • Paperwork support: NPHub prepares your preceptor paperwork using a standard affiliation agreement and completes any extra forms your program requires. NPHub does not contact your school directly; you submit the documents to your school's placement coordinators.
  • A student coordinator: support from booking until your rotation starts, and through to completion.
  • If your preceptor cancels: NPHub finds a replacement. If no alternative is available, your balance is refunded.
  • School approval: if your school rejects the preceptor and the rejection comes from information that was not in the preceptor's profile or was not shared by NPHub staff, you are covered by a replacement or a refund.
    ‍

Whatever service you consider, ask the same questions before you pay: what is the exact price for my required hours, what is the deposit, what happens if my school rejects the placement, and are there hidden fees such as financing or rush fees? A preceptor who has agreed to teach also shapes your learning experience, so ask how preceptors are screened.

If you want to compare for yourself, create a free NPHub account to see available preceptors and your exact price.

Frequently Asked Questions About NP Preceptor Costs

How much does NPHub cost?

NPHub connects nurse practitioner students with vetted preceptors, and placements start at $12.75 per clinical hour. Your total depends on your specialty, location, and the clinical hours your program requires, with a $1,000 minimum per rotation. You begin with a 15% deposit, then pay the balance in full, in three payments, or over twelve months. A 5% service fee applies to all transactions.

How much do NP preceptors cost through a matching service?

It depends on the pricing model. Some services that help students find preceptors use hourly billing, such as NPHub at $12.75 per clinical hour. Others charge a flat rate for a block of hours, or quote a price after a call. For NP clinical placements, compare the total cost for your required hours, including the deposit, payment plans, and any rush fee.

What does the $1,000 rotation minimum cover?

The $1,000 minimum is the lowest price for any clinical placement. On short rotations with few clinical hours, the per-hour calculation can come out below that amount, so $1,000 is the floor that keeps the placement viable for both the student and the preceptor.

Does NPHub charge fees on payment plans?

Paying in full carries no financing fee. The three-payment plan adds a 15% financing fee to your balance after the deposit, and the twelve-month plan adds a 33% financing fee to that balance. A 5% service fee applies to all transactions, whichever plan you choose. You see your exact price before you commit, so there are no hidden fees.

Is there a rush fee for urgent clinical placements?

Standard-timeline placements have no rush fee. Expedited placements carry a 20% fee, which funds dedicated support from a VIP Matching Specialist who prioritizes finding your preceptor quickly. Starting your preceptor search early in the semester helps you avoid it.

Does NP preceptor cost vary by state?

Yes. NPHub prices each placement on your location as well as your specialty and hours, so the same specialty can cost more in one state than in another. You can create a free account to see the exact price for your area before you commit.

Do all NP students have to pay for preceptors?

No, not all NP students pay for preceptors. Some students successfully find free preceptors through networking, alumni connections, or clinical sites willing to mentor without compensation. However, due to the nationwide preceptor shortage and high demand from nurse practitioner students, many find that paid preceptorship services are the most reliable way to secure clinical placements and graduate on time.

Is it legal to pay for an NP preceptor?

Yes, paying for clinical preceptors is legal. You're compensating experienced nurse practitioners for their time, expertise, and the reduced productivity they experience while supervising students. Most NP programs accept preceptors found through paid services, though it's always wise to confirm your school's specific policies before committing.

When should I start looking for a preceptor?

Ideally, start your search at least six months before your rotation begins, earlier if possible. Starting early gives you more options, helps you avoid higher fees for urgent rotation requests, and reduces the stress of last-minute searching while you're managing coursework and full-time work.

What's included in preceptor service fees?

Reputable services should clearly outline what's covered. Look for services that handle signed preceptor paperwork, provide dedicated support throughout your rotation, and offer guaranteed placement. Be wary of hidden fees for credit card processing or administrative expenses that aren't disclosed upfront.

Can I use payment plans for multiple rotations?

Many services, including NPHub, offer flexible payment options that work across multiple clinical rotations. Our 12-month payment plan allows you to spread costs throughout the year, making it easier to manage expenses for your entire clinical education without overwhelming your finances in a single semester.

What happens if my preceptor placement doesn't work out?

Quality services should provide support if issues arise. Ask potential providers about their policies before committing. Services offering guaranteed placement typically work with you to find an alternative if your initial match doesn't meet your needs or if unexpected circumstances arise.

Are specialized rotations more expensive than primary care?

Generally, yes. At NPHub, psychiatric-mental health, acute care, women's health, and pediatrics rotations usually cost more than family practice or primary care rotations, because fewer available preceptors take students in those specialties.

Do I pay the preceptor directly?

No. You pay NPHub one price, and NPHub handles preceptor compensation, so you never negotiate preceptor fees yourself.

Do I still have to pay tuition if I sit out a semester looking for preceptors?

This depends on your school's policies. Some programs require you to maintain enrollment (and pay tuition) even if you're not taking classes. Others allow you to take a leave of absence. Either way, delaying graduation means extended student loan interest and lost income potential from not yet working as a nurse practitioner.

Will paying for a preceptor guarantee I get good clinical experience?

Payment alone doesn't guarantee quality; that's why vetting matters. Services like NPHub rigorously screen preceptors to ensure they're not just credentialed, but genuinely invested in mentoring students. Our preceptors take an active role in your education, providing meaningful patient care exposure and dedicated support throughout your rotation.

Article details

Find a preceptor who cares with NPHub

Book a rotation

Recent Post

View All